For more legal information, visit the CLEO website and Your Legal Rights

Change font size:


  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Zoom: 100%

Coming from a designated country of origin

The Minister of Citizenship and Immigration can place a country on a list of ‘designated countries of origin’. Refugee claimants from these countries have fewer rights and the timelines for their claims are different.

There are over 40 countries on the current list, including the United States, Mexico, and most countries in the European Union. A country could be added to the list if the percentage of successful refugee claims is below a standard set by the Minister. Or it could be that there are few claims from that country and the Minister believes it to be democratic, with an independent judicial system and civil society organizations.

View the list of designated countries of origin.

The government can add more countries to this list at any time.

Last updated: Nov 27, 2014


All taxonomy terms:

All taxonomy terms: Letters

All taxonomy terms: Forms

All taxonomy terms: Fees

All taxonomy terms: Timelines

All taxonomy terms: Inadmissibility

All taxonomy terms: Proof of identity

All taxonomy terms: Applying for OHIP

All taxonomy terms: Special hearings